Tech How-to: Disassembly of a LaCie Porsche External Hard Drive (moved)

02/18/2012

This tutorial for taking apart a LaCie Porsche external hard drive has been moved to a new site in 2022: The post is the same but now instead lives here:

https://www.kilmermedia.net/post/tech-disassembly-lacie-porsche-external-hard-drive-disassembly

Screenshot of the post "Disassembly of a LaCie Porsche External Hard Drive", which has moved to kilmermedia.net

27 Responses to “Tech How-to: Disassembly of a LaCie Porsche External Hard Drive (moved)”

  1. sio said

    what kind of external enclosure can you buy for this hard drive?

  2. Fred said

    I have got a few La cie Porshe 250gb firewire. Can I replace the drives by bigger (500gb, 1tb, 2 tb?), would it be supported? What drive type is in this enclosure? ATA, SATA, PATA, IDE?

  3. […] see my LaCie Porsche External Hard Drive Disassembly post here. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Posted by leavingcelestia […]

  4. Brant Slark said

    Wonderful site. Lots of useful information here. I’m sending it to several pals ans also sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank you for your effort!

  5. Dennis said

    thank you for this, what is the thin cable that doesn’t seem to connect to anything for?

    • If it’s the trio of the red, green, and black cables you’re referring to, it’s just the activity light that attaches to the front of the housing. Thanks for the question… let me know if you have any more!

  6. Eli said

    Hello ! I just got as a birthday present the Lacie Porsche design 1 tb p’9223 drive. It’s a 2.5 inch unit. Any ideas how to open up this beauty ? Thanks !

    • Hi, Eli! I’ve never dealt with a drive of that design before, but I will look around to see if I can find any resources that might help you get that case open.

    • I did a search for disassembly of that drive and didn’t have any luck finding any results…sorry ’bout that. I guess that shouldn’t surprise me, though, since this post was created when I couldn’t find anyone explaining disassembly of the rugged drive. Best of luck!

  7. Anonymous said

    thank you, this help me a lot, but in my case there are not the 6 aluminum brackets.

    • Interesting… they must have changed the design a bit at some point during the production run…. glad to hear it still helped out, though. Thanks for the comment!

  8. Mike said

    Thanks so much for the instructions on dissassembly of this Lacie Porsche drive unit. I would have torn it up getting it apart without this help!

  9. Kaz said

    This is y reat stuff can you post a disassembly for the usb c mobile model

  10. Stephane said

    Thank for the useful info. I just disassembled mine, it has a Samsung 250GB Spinpoint P120 SN2514N drive.

    Click to access 2007SSHDDPGB_1st_version.pdf

  11. Call me stupid, why would anybody want to do this?

    • Reasons may vary but, in my experience, sometimes the connectors/circuit boards fry, and the drives can still be fully usable. In that scenario, they can be transferred to a new housing or used in a drive dock.

What's up?